Released: September, 2012

Elena Ruehr: Averno

Published by: AVR-AVIE Records

Buy Now

Composer Elena Ruehr’s first release for Avie assembles vocal and choral works inspired by three distinct American poets: Louise Glück, Emily Dickinson, and Langston Hughes. The title work, “Averno,” is a cantata that sets 11 poems of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Glück collection of the same name. The miniatures “Cricket, Spider, Bee” paint a vivid, aural picture of Dickinson’s scenic natural world. The large scale “Gospel Cha Cha” sets Langston Hughes’ socially critical late poetry, evoking African dances, drumming, and the Harlem Renaissance of the 1960s with improvisatory flair.

Featured Artists:

The Trinity Choir with Novus NY
Julian Wachner: director
Marguerite Krull: soprano
Stephen Salters: baritone